Skip to main content

South African Mint celebrates 25 years of democracy with new commemorative

Last week the South African Mint Company released a new coin series entitled “Celebrating South Africa” in celebration of South Africa’s 25 years of democracy.

It commemorates the rights and freedoms espoused by South Africa’s Constitution.

On that week 25 years ago, South Africans went to the polls in the country’s first democratic elections following the end of Apartheid rule. In honor of this milestone, the SA Mint issued new collectible coins in base metal, sterling silver, and pure gold.

Tumi Tshelo, the Managing Director of the SA Mint says, “It is our most democratic coin thematically. The design ideas come from those born in a free South Africa in response to what freedom meant to them. We worked with many young and talented artists to bring to life their vivid imagery of a constitutional democracy.”

On the reverse, the of R500 pure-gold coin is the highest court in South Africa, born of the country’s first democratic Constitution in 1994. It depicts the building that houses the Constitutional Court, including the details on the door, which has the 27 constitutional rights, engraved in its wood. Also, it has the skyline of Johannesburg in the background.

The coin’s reverse is designed by architect, Shaun Gaylard, and is inspired by the interaction between the building, its inhabitants, and its visitors. This particular coin will be available in May 2019.

The reverse of the R50 sterling silver collectible coin features the constitutional democracy in action, which is symbolized by a line of people waiting to vote mirroring April 27, 1994, the first time that all South Africans were allowed to vote.

The words “We the people of South Africa” are featured prominently on the reverse of the R50 bronze alloy coin designed by Peter Mammes. There are also two joined hands symbolizing togetherness and depict people, ethnicity and religion.

Image courtesy of South African Mint

Image courtesy of South African Mint

The R50 sterling silver and R50 bronze alloy coins have the same obverse: the national coat of arms with the date of issue ‘2019’ and the words “South Africa” written in all of the official languages.

Common obverse for silver and bronze alloy coin. (Image courtesy of South African Mint.)

Common obverse for silver and bronze alloy coin. (Image courtesy of South African Mint.)

More details can be found on the SA Mint’s various social media platforms.

If you like what you've read here, we invite you to visit our online bookstore to learn more about Standard Catalog of World Coins, 2001-Date.

Standard Catalog of World Coins, 2001-Date

Learn more >>>