Skip to main content

PNG prepares to recognize achievements

The Professional Numismatists Guild is now is accepting nominations for its 2019 awards, according to Executive Director Robert Brueggeman and President Barry Stuppler.


“Each year, PNG publicly recognizes outstanding achievements in the hobby and the profession by honoring deserving recipients with awards in a half-dozen categories,” said Brueggeman.

“We cordially welcome and strongly encourage nominations from all collectors and dealers.”

Award nominations must be made by May 31 directly to the appropriate award category officials as follows:

Abe Kosoff Founders Award:
Presented to a PNG member-dealer with steadfast dedication to the entire numismatic community and who has made a significant contribution to the Guild or to the numismatic fraternity in general over the past year. The award is named after PNG’s Founding President, who spearheaded the 1953 launch of the organization. Committee Chairs: Richard Weaver and Wayde Milas. and

Sol Kaplan Award:
To recognize efforts and contributions in combatting crimes against the numismatic community, this award is presented to someone who has given their time in an attempt to rid the profession of fraud and thievery. The award is jointly presented by the PNG and the Lewis M. Reagan Foundation. It is named after a former PNG President and Ohio dealer who was personally responsible for the apprehension of several people suspected of committing numismatic-related crimes. Committee Chair: Robert Brueggeman.

Robert Friedberg Award:
Presented to an author in recognition of an outstanding book or other literature. Named in honor of a publisher and author of numismatic reference books, this award is not automatically given each year. It is only given when there is deemed to be a worthy recipient or recipients. Committee Chair: James A. Simek. Note: A copy of each book nominated for this year’s award must be submitted for delivery no later than May 31 to James A. Simek, P.O. Box 7157, Westchester, IL 60154-7157.

Lifetime Achievement Award:
Presented to a numismatist for his/her extraordinary devotion to numismatics and who, over their lifetime, significantly contributed to the hobby or profession. Committee Co-Chairs: Brett Charville and John Brush. and

Significant Contribution Award:
Given to those who have made exceptional, beneficial efforts over the years on behalf of PNG and the profession, and also added to the hobby. Committee Co-Chairs: Barry Stuppler and Dana S. Samuelson. and

Art Kagin Ambassador Award:
This award is named after a former PNG President and nationally-known Iowa dealer who provided distinguished service as an advocate of numismatic goodwill. Committee Co-Chairs: Don Ketterling and Don Rinkor. and

Award winners will be announced at the annual PNG Day banquet on Aug. 12, following the PNG Day show at the Donald E. Stephens Convention Center in the Chicago suburb of Rosemont, Ill.

For additional information about the PNG awards, contact Robert Brueggeman, PNG Executive Director, 28441 Rancho California Road, Suite 106, Temecula, CA 92590.

The organization may be reached via phone at 951-587-8300, via email at, or online at

This article was originally printed in Numismatic News. >> Subscribe today.

If you like what you've read here, we invite you to visit our online bookstore to learn more about Standard Catalog of United States Paper Money.

 Standard Catalog of United States Paper Money

Learn more >>>