Skip to main content

Three receive ICTA Service Award


Recipients of ICTA's annual Diane Piret Memorial Outstanding Service Award are organization chairman Philip Diehl and board member Greg Allen (left), as well as board member Gary Adkins (right). (Images courtesy

The Industry Council for Tangible Assets bestowed its annual Diane Piret Memorial Outstanding Service Award during its membership and board of directors dinner Jan. 4 in Fort Lauderdale, Fla.

Receiving the honors were ICTA chairman Philip Diehl and board members Gary Adkins and Greg Allen.

All three worked for two years to amend the Minnesota Bullion Coin Dealer law. They participated in countless meetings with the Department of Commerce to work on corrective language, in addition to meeting with legislators, lobbyists and dealers residing inside and outside Minnesota; attending shows around the country and in Minnesota to educate the dealers and collectors on the changes; and helping raise funding for this massive undertaking.

The legislation passed in both the House and Senate in an unprecedented 10 weeks, and Minnesota Governor Mark Dayton signed the bill within a few days of its landing on his desk.

ICTA sited another major accomplishment of building of a “very respectable” relationship with the Department of Commerce and the dealer community.

“The team effort these gentlemen displayed is an example of how ICTA members working together can accomplish the passage of major legislation,” the council said in a statement.

This article was originally printed in Numismatic News Express. >> Subscribe today

More Collecting Resources

• If you enjoy reading about what inspires coin designs, you'll want to check out Fascinating Facts, Mysteries & Myths about U.S. Coins.

• Is that coin in your hand the real deal or a clever fake? Discover the difference with U.S. Coins Close Up, a one-of-a-kind visual guide to every U.S. coin type.