Skip to main content

Huggins receives inaugural Central States' President's Award

Central States Numismatic stalwart Jack Huggins Jr. received the first-ever CSNS President

Central States Numismatic stalwart Jack Huggins Jr. received the first-ever CSNS President?s Award for his continuing services to the organization. The presentation was made by outgoing CSNS President Marvin Mericle on April 29 during the CSNS Annual Awards Breakfast in Columbus, Ohio.

The venue was also the site of the presentation of the society?s exhibit and literary awards.

Wendall Wolka won the coveted Best of Show, the Robert R. Kutcher Award, for his exhibit, ?The Five State Bank of Ohio $5 Design Types.? The People?s Choice Award went to Tom Klunzinger, ?Circulating Type Coins of 1956.? Best Exhibit by a First Time CSNS Exhibitor honors, the Joseph and Morton Stack Award, were taken by Richard Jozefiak, ?Unique 1921 British Penny.?

Most Educational, the John Jay Pittman Award, went to Bruce Benoit, ?Just Checking ? A Collection of Paper History.?

Other exhibit award categories and winners were as follows:
- U.S. Coins: First place, William H. Cowburn Jr., ?A Transitional Proof 1876 Trade Dollar.? Second place, Gerald Kochel, ?Liberty Seated Half Dimes.? Third place, Scott Goodman, ?Early U.S. Commemorative Type Set.?
- U.S. Paper Money: First place, Wendall Wolka, ?The Five State Bank of Ohio $5 Design Types.? Second place, Tom Casper, ?A Selection of U.S. Bonds and Related Items.? Third place, Bruce Benoit, ?
- Foreign Coins After 1700: First place, Steve Roach, ?Ancient Artistic Influences on Selected Modern World Coins.? Second place, Bill Kamb, ?British Honduras Cents of George VI and Elizabeth II. Third place, Richard Jozefiak, ?A Detailed Study of the British Sovereign.?
- Foreign Coins Prior to 1700: First place, Jim Cain, ?Coins of Bible Days.? Second place, Steve Roach, ?A Tale of Two Coins.? Third place, Tom Klunzinger, ?A Long-Cross Penny of Aethelred II.?
- Foreign Paper Money: First place, Neil Shafer, ?A Panorama of World Error Notes.? Second place, John Wilson, ?Ming Dynasty Note.? Third place, Mike Dennany, ?Irish Promissory $10 Note.?
- Medals and Tokens: First place, Tom Casper, ?U.S. Love Tokens.? Second place, Marvin Mericle, ?Communion Tokens of Scotland.? Third place, Gerald Kochel, ?Linden Hall ? School for Girls.?
- Miscellaneous: First place, Tom Havelka, ?Bellaire, Ohio, Numismatics: A Sample of Numismatic Related Items from Bellaire, Ohio.? Second place, Richard Jozefiak, ?Unique 1921 British Penny.? Third place, Bruce Benoit, ?Just Checking?A Collection of Paper History.?
- U.S. State Quarters: First place, William Cowburn Jr., ?Collecting Error U.S. State Quarters.? Second place, Steve Roach, ?The Story Behind Michigan?s 2004 State Quarter.?
- Junior Exhibitors: First place, Anna Heinrich, ?The Streets are Paved With Gold.? Second place, Katie Heinrich, ?Without the Grace of God.? Third place, Quenten Wyant, ?United States Type Coins with Holes.?

Literary awards were presented for articles appearing in the society?s quarterly journal, The Centinal. Taking first place among the seniors was Bruce Benoit. William H. Cowburn Jr. placed second. For the juniors, there was a tie for first place between Samuel Ernst of Omaha, Neb., and Hayden Rose of Matthews, N.C.

Representing Krause Publications, Iola, Wis., Joel Edler presented a check for $977.50 to the CSNS YN Scholarship Fund. This brings the total over several years of similar contributions by KP to the fund to $6,085.25.

The new CSNS board of governors was sworn in and the gavel of leadership passed from Marvin Mericle to William Brandimore, the new CSNS president.

The awards breakfast was sponsored by Whitman Publishing.