Skip to main content

Five to receive Smedley award

Howard A. Daniel III, Larry Gaye, James W. Hunt, Myrna Lighterman and Dennis Schafluetzel will be honored with the American Numismatic Association
  • Author:
  • Publish date:

Howard A. Daniel III, Larry Gaye, James W. Hunt, Myrna Lighterman and Dennis Schafluetzel will be honored with the American Numismatic Association?s Glenn Smedley Memorial Award and medal Aug. 1 at the World?s Fair of Money in Baltimore, Md. The award acknowledges those who demonstrate the spirit of the late Glenn Smedley, an ANA member and hobby enthusiast regarded as a ?collector?s collector.?

Daniel, of Deltaville, Va., is an ANA life member who has staffed the International Bank Note Society, Numismatics International and Numismatic Bibliomania Society tables at numerous ANA conventions.
He also belongs to the Society of Paper Money Collectors, Numismatic Literary Guild and many regional, state and local organizations. A specialist in Southeast Asian numismatics, Daniel is a member of the Numismatic Association of Thailand and the Numismatic Society of Indonesia. He was named a Numismatic Ambassador by Numismatic News in 2004.

Gaye, of Beaverton, Ore., is an ANA life member and ancient coin collector. He served as assistant general chairman of the ANA National Money Show in 1998 and general chairman in 2004. He has been an ANA National Volunteer since 2002 and received the ANA Goodfellow Award in 2004. Gaye was president of the Willamette Coin Club in the mid-1980s, and is president and a 10-year board member of the Pacific Northwest Numismatic Association.

Hunt, of Chula Vista, Calif., has been an ANA member for more than 50 years. He belongs to the California State Numismatic Association, Numismatic Association of Southern California, Society of Private and Pioneer Numismatics and California Exonumist Society. An award-winning exhibitor, he has been an exhibit judge at more than 20 ANA conventions. He is a Numismatic Theatre presenter and the host of radio show ?Coin Talk.? The director of education for the CSNA, Hunt coordinates the annual Southern California Educational Symposium and was instrumental in the launch of the California state quarter. He received the ANA?s Wayte and Olga Raymond Memorial Literary Award in 2005, as well as NASC honors.

Lighterman, of Sanford, Fla., is an ANA National Volunteer who has for many years worked during ANA convention set-up and dealer registration, as well as with young numismatist programs. She is an exhibitor who has co-authored books on casino chips with her son, Mark. An ANA member since 1992, Lighterman belongs to Florida United Numismatists, CSNA, Casino Chip and Gaming Token Collectors Club and Florida Token Society. She received an ANA Presidential Award in 2001.

Schafluetzel, of Hixon, Tenn., has held numerous offices in the Tennessee State Numismatic Society, and Georgia and Blue Ridge Numismatic Associations. A paper money exhibitor, Schafluetzel was assistant exhibit chairman for the ANA?s National Money Show in 2001 and exhibit chairman in 2006. He has written extensively on Chattanooga bank notes and was instrumental in founding the Chattanooga Currency Club. A recipient of the ANA Outstanding Club Representative Award, Schafluetzel regularly attends ANA Summer Seminars.