Skip to main content

Finner seeks VP spot

Patti Jagger Finner announces her candidacy for ANA vice president.
  • Author:
  • Publish date:

Incumbent member of the American Numismatic Association board of governors, Patti Jagger Finner, announced Jan. 2 her candidacy for the office of ANA vice president in the 2007 election.
Her primary agenda, she says, is education. She stresses that it is education for the new as well as the experienced collector and dealer.

Finner says it is a family hobby and should be portrayed as such to Boy and Girl Scouts across the country. She is a certified Boy Scout Merit Badge counselor for ?Coin Collecting.?

Finner is the Baltimore Coin and Currency Show youth coordinator presenting classes, a fill-your-album with Lincoln cents table and other activities at the ?Kids Korner? section three times each year.

She is youth program manager of the Hawaii State Numismatic Association?s annual convention.

Finner has supervised Treasure Hunts and other YN activities at more than 100 shows, schools and coin club meetings.

Together with her husband, Rollie, an exhibitor and ANA judge, she travels promoting the hobby and the ANA, often at their own expense, she says.

Her other objective is making the member services more readily available and utilized. This includes the traveling exhibits, library materials, enhanced club services and member appreciation.

Finner, who joined the ANA in 1981, is serving her third term as an ANA governor. She is the vice president of the Central States Numismatic Society, founding member and past president of Women In Numismatics, past governor of the Numismatists of Wisconsin, director of International Association of Silver Art Collectors, president of Friends of the Buffalo and a member of the Professional Numismatists Guild. She also belongs to over 25 local and state coin clubs.

She has received the ANA?s Glenn Smedley Award, Medal of Merit, Presidential Award, Top Membership Recruiter and Century Club Award; The National Silver Dollar Roundtable?s Presidents Award and Woman of the Year, WIN?s Literary Award and Outstanding Service Medal, and numerous other club and educational awards.