Skip to main content

Any more ANA candidates?

Today is deadline day for candidates filing to run in this year’s American Numismatic Association election.

Unless there is a surprise during the day, it appears that ANA presidential candidate Jeff Garrett is running unopposed.

Current board member Gary Adkins is running unopposed for vice president.

There is some excitement in the race to fill the seven seats of the board of governors as there are more candidates than seats available.

Incumbents have tremendous advantages.

Three incumbents apparently have decided not to run again.

None of them is term limited.

Scott Rottinghaus, Laura Sperber and Jeff Swindling are stepping down.

Seeking to return to the board as governors for the next two years are current president Walter Ostromecki Jr., Tom Mulvaney and Greg Lyon.

Dr. Ralph Ross, an incumbent, has not yet completed all of the steps necessary to get on the ballot for this election, according to the ANA website.

Individuals who are not current incumbents seeking a board seat are former governor Dr. Donald H. Kagin; Col. Steve Ellsworth, ret.; Richard Jozefiak; Steve D’Ippolito; Brian Hendelson; Paul Montgomery, Oded Paz, and Christopher Marchase.

With a full day yet ahead, changes to this line-up are possible. I might find myself writing on this topic again tomorrow.

It appears though that name recognition rather than any overriding campaign issue will be the main factor in helping ANA members make their leadership selections for the 2015-2017 term of office.

The election will be conducted both by paper ballot and electronically June 1 to July 1.

Results will be announced in the period July 16-Aug. 1.

Swearing in will occur at the annual awards dinner Aug. 14 during the World’s Fair of Money in the Chicago suburb of Rosemont, Ill.

I look forward to being there to congratulate the winners.

Buzz blogger Dave Harper is winner of the 2014 Numismatic Literary Guild Award for Best Blog and is editor of the weekly newspaper "Numismatic News."