Skip to main content

ANA seeks nominations for its annual awards

Who should 2017 American Numismatic Association awards be given to?


The answer to that question depends on your willingness to make nominations.

ANA is asking that you submit your choices for its top awards.

Deadline is Jan. 15, 2017.

Nominations must be in writing. ANA posts a handy form on its website:

A list of 13 of its awards follows.

Farran Zerbe Memorial Award – The ANA’s highest honor, this award recognizes years of outstanding, dedicated service to numismatics.

Lifetime Achievement Award – Presented to an individual, family, firm, or judicial entity for contributions to organized numismatics.

Elvira Clain-Stefanelli Memorial Award – This award honors women who have made a significant impact to numismatics, through research, leadership, or mentorship.

Numismatist of the Year – Recognizes individuals within the numismatic community who have demonstrated long-term leadership in the field and to the ANA.

Harry J. Forman Dealer of the Year Award – Honors professional numismatists who exhibit uncommon dedication to strengthening the hobby and the ANA.

Numismatic Art Award for Excellence in Medallic Sculpture – The award honors artists whose cumulative lifetime achievements in the field of medallic art have been of the highest order.

Adna G. Wilde Award of Excellence – Awarded to an ANA member who has dedicated time and resources to strengthen the hobby and further the ANA’s educational mission.

Exemplary Service Award – Given to individuals, clubs, corporations, or other entities that have performed services for the ANA that are “above and beyond” the call.

Medal of Merit – Recognizes individuals who have dedicated numerous years of service to the ANA and promotion of the hobby.

Glenn Smedley Memorial Award – This award honors individuals who have devoted their efforts to the betterment of the ANA.

Lawrence J. Gentile Sr. Outstanding Adult Advisor Award – Recognizes individuals who have devoted time to recruit young numismatists and aiding their development.

Young Numismatist of the Year – Honors numismatists under the age of 23 for outstanding contributions to the hobby and who are active in volunteer service and numismatic research.

Outstanding District Representative – Recognizes the District Representative who most fully promotes coin collecting, coin clubs and the ANA.

For more information about the selection criteria of each award go to:

This article was originally printed in Numismatic News Express. >> Subscribe today

More Collecting Resources

• If you enjoy reading about what inspires coin designs, you'll want to check out Fascinating Facts, Mysteries & Myths about U.S. Coins.

• Order the Standard Catalog of World Paper Money, General Issues to learn about circulating paper money from 14th century China to the mid 20th century.