Skip to main content

Ambassadors start early

This should have been published Aug. 15, but perhaps due to my coding error, or a computer glitch, it was not. Here is is now.

This morning at an 8 o’clock breakfast, three people were named Numismatic News Numismatic Ambassadors.

Award plaques were given to Scott Rottinghaus, Richard Jozefiak and Robert Brueggeman at the annual Ambassador Breakfast held during the American Numismatic Association convention.

Congratulations to all three.

The venue couldn’t have been more appropriate. All three have connections to the ANA.

Rottinghaus has just been re-elected to the board of governors of the ANA. He has been active since he was a Young Numismatist.

Jozefiak was a candidate for the board. This ANA volunteer from Alabama did not win, but if the pattern holds, he will be back on the national ballot again in the future and will wind up a winner.

The ANA voters might not have known too much about him this time around, but if the current Ambassadors, who vote in the new ones, know him and elect him, the word will spread to the rest of the ANA membership.

Brueggeman is a man with several hats. He is executive director of the Professional Numismatists Guild, which helped organize the ANA pre-show. His firm also has done security at national conventions for many years.

The East Coast, the South and the West each has a winner this year.

Buzz blogger Dave Harper is editor of the weekly newspaper "Numismatic News."