• seperator

WIN elects Weiss president

Lorraine Weiss
is the new president pro tem of Women in Numismatics.

She was installed by American Numismatics Association President Barry Stuppler at the World’s Fair of Money in Baltimore, Md., Aug. 2.

Weis succeeds Prue Fitts, who resigned due to family commitments. Others still in office are Lisa Loos, vice president; Jacquie Flanigan, secretary; Cindy Mohon, treasurer; Katie Heinrich, editor; and Marianne Musella, publicity. Elections will be held in 2009.

Fitts was honored with the Gloria Peters Literary Award for an article about Mary Queen of Scots printed in the WIN magazine “Winning Ways.”

WIN will launch a new Web site in August at www.womeninnumismatics.com. The Web site was developed in conjunction with Whitman Publishing. Whitman President Mary Counts displayed a protype of the Web site at the meeting.

Lawrence Schuffman presented a program on the “Liberty Loan Bond Story” at the meeting.

WIN sponsored a public program on “What Should I Do with my Collection?” by Jeff Rarich, certified financial planner, at the Baltimore convention.

Applications from members are being accepted for a scholarship to the ANA summer conference. WIN will pay tuition and room and board for the summer session. Applications must be received by Dec. 15. For more information contact WIN c/o Katie Heinrich, Box 446, Miamitown, OH 45041 or e-mail khcoins@fuse.net.

Anyone interested in joining WIN may contact Mohon at PO Box 8955, Redlands, CA 92375-2155 or Heinrich.

This entry was posted in Articles, Coin Club News, News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply