• seperator

PNG calls for 2012 award nominations


Nominations are now being accepted for the 2012 Professional Numismatists Guild awards, according to PNG Executive Director Robert Brueggeman and President Jeffrey Bernberg.

“These annual and eagerly anticipated awards formally recognize achievements in various areas of the hobby and profession,” said Brueggeman.

One Coin is Never Enough

Guidance on how to get started and enjoy this great hobby!

“The award winners will be announced at the annual PNG Day summer banquet that will be held in Philadelphia on Aug. 6, 2012, the eve of the American Numismatic Association’s World’s Fair of Money,” explained Bernberg.

Nominations should be made directly to the appropriate award category chair by mid-June. The categories and contacts are:

Abe Kosoff Founders Award
Presented to a PNG member-dealer who has made a significant contribution to the guild or to the numismatic fraternity in general the past year. Committee co-chairs: Dana S. Samuelson and Barry Stuppler. Email: dana@amergold.com and barry@stuppler.com.

Art Kagin Ambassador Award
This award is presented for providing distinguished service as an advocate of numismatic goodwill. Committee chair: Paul Montgomery. Email: paul.montgomery@apmex.com.

Significant Contribution Award
Given to those who have made exceptional, beneficial efforts on behalf of PNG and the profession, and added to the hobby. Committee chair: Fred Weinberg. Email: fred@fredweinberg.com.

Lifetime Achievement Award
Presented to a numismatist for his/her devotion to numismatics and who, over their lifetime, significantly contributed to the hobby or profession. Committee chair: Richard Weaver. Email: rweaver@dvrcc.com.

Sol Kaplan Award
Presented to someone who has given their time in an attempt to rid the profession of fraud and thievery. The award is jointly presented by the PNG and the Lewis M. Reagan Foundation. Committee chair: Robert Brueggeman. Email: info@pngdealers.com.

Robert Friedberg Award
Presented to an author in recognition for an outstanding book or other literature. This award is not automatically given each year. It is presented only when there is deemed to be a worthy recipient or recipients. Committee chair: James A. Simek. Email: nge3@comcast.net. (Note: A copy of each book nominated for this year’s award must be submitted for delivery no later than June 18 to James A. Simek, P.O. Box 7157, Westchester, IL 60154-7157.)

For more information, call (951) 587-8300, email info@pngdealers.com or visit www.pngdealers.com.

More Coin Collecting Resources:

State Quarters Deluxe Folder By Warmans

• Subscribe to our Coin Price Guide, buy Coin Books Coin Folders and join the NumisMaster VIP Program

Strike It Rich with Pocket Change, 2nd Edition

This entry was posted in Articles, General News, News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply