• seperator

Medal to honor Apollo 11 astronauts

Both the Senate and the House used the 40th anniversary of man’s landing on the moon to pass separate bills to mandate issuance of a national gold medal to astronauts Neil Armstrong, Edwin “Buzz” Aldrin, and Michael Collins of Apollo 11, and John H. Glenn of Friendship 7.

Bronze duplicates would be produced and offered for sale by the U.S. Mint, and would be called national medals. Because two different versions passed, the measure will either go to conference to iron our small differences, or one house will have to recede from its position.

Armstrong landed on the moon on July 20, 1969, taking a giant step “for mankind.” Aldrin accompanied him in the lunar lander and was the second man to walk on the moon. Collins remained in orbit.
The landing was later commemorated on the reverse of the Eisenhower and Susan B. Anthony dollars.

Glenn’s 1962 flight three times around the globe paved the path to the lunar surface.

This entry was posted in Articles, General News, News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply