• seperator
Coin of the Year, an award for excellence in coinage design first issued in 1984 by Krause Publications in Iola, Wisconsin, has become the ultimate international recognition of mints and their artists, growing into the community’s most coveted award for contemporary world coins. Today, artists and mints worldwide openly compete for one of the Krause Coin of the Year categories. The announcement of the Coin of the Year is one of the highlights of the annual World Money Fair and the winner in internationally celebrated. any remaining mintage of the winner quickly sells out and coin values rise dramatically on the secondary market. this is, indeed, solid evidence of the global acceptance, standing and success of the annual award. The Coin of the Year Ward had a humble origin as a pet project of Krause Publications’ founder Chester “Chet” Krause and former Krause Publications’ President and CEO Clifford “Cliff” Mishler. by highlighting medallic art with merit, Mishler hoped to encourage world mints ot improve the art of coins. Few could have imagined how the brainchild of these two pioneering men would be so well received today. An international panel of judges nominates and votes for coins in each category. Category winners then compete for the grand price – the Krause Coin of the Year. The celebration of these winners presents a contemporary history of the world and history of contemporary art. Most of the coins remain available and affordable. A collection of coins in any of the categories makes an attractive visual display, providing hours of fun and learning.    

Jimenez earns COTY Lifetime Achievement Award

Joaquin Jimenez

On Feb. 2, 2019, at the Thirty-Sixth Annual Coin of the Year Awards Ceremony in Berlin, Germany, Joaquin Jimenez had the honor of winning the 2019 Lifetime Achievement in Coin Design Award.

Jimenez began his career working for several private medal editors. He then collaborated with Monnaie de Paris and other monetary institutes (Netherlands, Scandinavia, Baltic countries) as an independent artist.

In 1997, he won the design competition for the obverse of the French circulation coins of 1 and 2 euro, his most famous achievement.

The creation of the collection of the “Kinetic Sower” made for the reintroduction of Face Value Euros in 2008 and led to a closer and closer collaboration with the teams of Monnaie de Paris.

Since 2013, Jimenez has been Director of Engraving Creation and Artistic Director of the Foundry at Monnaie de Paris.

He has made many collaborations with Artistic Directions of French houses in the world of luxury, such as the fashion house Jean Paul Gaultier. He is also famous for drawings such as the Rooster and Marianne, French symbols “par excellence.”

He is also much involved in the artistic work done with contemporary artists exhibiting at Monnaie de Paris.

In 2018, he was presented the Arts & Letters Officer medal.

Among his most beautiful achievements are:

• 1986: 10 francs, Rooster and Marianne
• 1989: 5 francs, Eiffel Tower, Winner of COTY 1991
• 1992: Albertville Olympics
• 1998: FIFA World Cup
• 2000: The XXth Century
• 2008-2010: The Kinetic Sower
• 2010-2012: Euros of the Regions
• 2011-2013: Hercules
• 2014-2015: The Rooster
• 2016-2019: Marianne
• 2017: France by Jean Paul Gaultier in artistic collaboration

Some of Jimenez’s outstanding coin designs from previous years.

His is a monumental story of success through hard work, enthusiasm, and artistic vision. In his acceptance speech, translated by colleague Julien Sabouret, Jimenez said, “I am often asked what is my favorite coin design. After a moment of thought, my answer is always ‘The next one.’”


This article was originally printed in Numismatic News Express. >> Subscribe today


Standard Catalog of World Coins, 2001-Date
If you like what you’ve read here, we invite you to visit our online bookstore to learn more about Standard Catalog of World Coins, 2001-Date.

Learn more >>>

Tags: , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply