• seperator

Fore given Hamilton Award

The Alexander Hamilton Award is more than a pat on the back.

On Sept. 29, former U.S. Mint Director Henrietta Holsman Fore received this highest award from the U.S. Treasury for her work with the Mint.

Secretary of the Treasury John W. Snow presented Fore with the honor at a ceremony in the Treasury’s ornate Cash Room.

The Cash Room, designed as a roofed version of an Italian palazzo, opened in 1869 as a bank for the transaction of the government’s financial business, but was closed in 1976 in an effort to cut costs. Nine years later, the room was restored to its former splendor.

At the award ceremony, Sandra L. Pack, assistant secretary for management and chief financial officer, welcomed the crowd.

Both Treasury Secretary Snow and Deputy Secretary of the Treasury Robert M. Kimmitt, a coin collector, praised former Director Fore in their remarks.

Former Director Fore now serves as Under Secretary for Management at the U.S. Department of State.

The citation for the award reads:

  • Henrietta Holsman Fore served President George W. Bush and the American people with distinction and integrity from August 2001 to August 2005. Ms. Fore served two Treasury Secretaries as the Director of the United States Mint. During this historic period, her professionalism, dedication and vision were essential to the success of the United States Mint.
    Ms. Fore redefined the priorities and objectives of the United States Mint and transformed the agency into an efficient manufacturing operation. She achieved historic progress in Mint Operations, improving safety, unparalleled customer satisfaction, and significant cost reduction. Additionally, she enriched coin design through the creation of an innovative artistic program.
    Ms. Fore championed improvements in leadership and teamwork. She steadfastly fostered diversity in all areas, as well as provided a workplace where all are treated equally and with respect.
    In recognition of these accomplishments and many others, her exemplary leadership, and her outstanding contributions to the United States Mint, Henrietta Holsman Fore is presented the Alexander Hamilton Award. 
This entry was posted in Archived News, Articles, News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply