• seperator

Dutch Mint celebrates its 10 cents

The Kingdom of the Netherlands came into being in 1815 following the defeat of Napoleon. It readopted the guilder as its primary unit of currency.

In 1817, the guilder was decimalized and the first coins issued, a copper 1 cent (KM-47) and a silver 3 guilders (KM-40). The remaining denominations were introduced in 1818. These included a 10 cents (KM-53).

Obverse and reverse of Netherlands coin cards containing 10 cents of three Dutch queens produced to mark the bicentenary of the Dutch denomination. (Images courtesy Koninklijke Nederlandse Munt)

To mark the 200th anniversary of the Dutch 10 cents, Koninklijke Nederlandse Munt [Royal Dutch Mint] has released a coin card containing uncirculated examples from three Dutch queens: Wilhelmina (KM-163), Juliana (KM-182), and Beatrix (KM-203). The new set follows on from the “3 Monarchs on Quarters” issued in 2017.

Specifications of the three coins are: Wilhelmina – 15 mm, 1.4 g .640 fine silver; Juliana -– 15 mm, 1.5 g nickel; Beatrix – 15 mm, 1.5 g nickel.

Mintage is 3,500 coin cards.


This article was originally printed in World Coin News. >> Subscribe today.


 SCWC 1801-1900
If you like what you’ve read here, we invite you to visit our online bookstore to learn more about Standard Catalog of World Coins, 1801-1900.

Learn more >>>



NumismaticNews.net is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com and affiliated websites.

Tags: , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply