• seperator

CONECA names award winners


Recently the Combined Organizations of Numismatic Error Collectors (CONECA) announced their annual award winners. All were announced at the 2012 American Numismatic Association’s (ANA) World’s Fair of Money in Philadelphia. Those literary award winners who were present were able to take home their plaques that included a one- ounce CONECA silver round.

The following individuals were this year’s literary award winners: Joseph E. Au-Franz, Roger W. Beckner, Beth Deisher, Mike Diamond, Erik Elbieh, Mike Ellis, Rick Emery, Rachel Irish, Robert H. Knauss, Don Lannon, Bob Larkin, Mark Lighterman, David P. Mitchell, James Motley, Oscar Ernesto Tiznado Moya, Andrew J. Oskam, Ken Potter, Al Raddi, Lee Roschen, Jon P. Sullivan, Fred Weinberg, James Wiles and Jeff Ylitalo.

Strike It Rich with Pocket Change

Get the ultimate treasure-hunting tool for coin collectors!

Though not present, this year’s winner of the annual Kenny Knapp Recruiting Award was Alan Herbert. This is not the first year Alan has taken this award.

This year’s Eddie Colwell Cherrypickers’ Award for the Best Planchet/Striking Error went to James Zimmerman for his pick of a QueenElizabeth II, 50-pence post 1997, struck on a post 1997 5-pence planchet. This award is given to the winner of actual cherrypicking during this show.

The Dr. Lyndon King Award is given to the person who shows both a lifetime of achievements as well as being the outstanding member of the year. Once all the nominations from the membership have been received those members with the most nominations are voted on by the board and the past five recipients. This year is perhaps the most memorable winner of all time. Regardless of an unwritten rule that normally disallows current board members and officers to receive this award, everyone who participated in the voting voted on CONECA’s current President, Mark Lighterman.

Lighterman started this term as vice president and became president after his predecessor resigned. As president he went way out of his way to solve several issues that evolved around the loss of CONECA’s long-time treasurer, Jim Checkovich.

Upon being announced as the award winner, Lighterman had this to say, “I would like to take the moment to personally thank the entire board and all the other voting members for both nominating me and presenting me with the award. First, I knew Dr. King which makes the award special but I usually shy away from awards, especially when it gives the appearance that the board is only honoring themselves. The board and the members felt I was the only one they wanted to consider. I am so honored to have recieved this award and it is one of my highlights of my numismatic history.”

CONECA Awarded its highest award to a man that is no stranger to the entire numismatic community: California dealer Fred Weinberg.
In presenting the award President Lighterman said: “I have known this person for over 35 years and his devotion to the error and variety hobby stands at the top. He most certainly deserves to be alongside those who have previously been inducted to the Hall.

“He has donated his time, knowledge, resources and friendship to those who have but to only ask. He has been one of the few full time error dealers to keep the error hobby alive and in front of the numismatic press whenever he can.

“I was proud to announce Fred Weinberg as our newest Hall of Fame inductee. Congratulations, Fred. This induction is well deserved.”

More Coin Collecting Resources:

Get the 2012 Coin of the Year, and begin your collection of the award winning Mint of Israel Biblical Coins Series all at once for one low price!

• Subscribe to our Coin Price Guide, buy Coin Books Coin Folders and join the NumisMaster VIP Program

The Essential Guide to Investing in Precious Metals

This entry was posted in Articles, General News, News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply