• seperator

Bush OKs more state quarters

President George W. Bush signed the 56-state-quarter bill into law Dec. 26, assuring that Washington, D.C., and five insular trust territories will have their ?state quarter? coins.

Benefiting are Washington, D.C., and the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, American Virgin Islands, American Samoa, Guam, and the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, which get the coins authorized by section 622 of the act.

The intent of the new law is making appropriations for the Department of State, foreign operations and related programs for the fiscal year ending Sept. 30, 2008, and for other purposes. The President signed after boarding Air Force One for a holiday trip to Crawford, Texas.

This entry was posted in Archived News, Articles, News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply