• seperator

ANA introduces dealer award

The American Numismatic Association has created a new accolade, the Harry J. Forman Dealer of the Year Award.

To be presented annually, the award honors a professional numismatist who shows uncommon dedication to strengthening the hobby and the ANA, and displays exemplary ethical standards as a numismatic dealer.

The award was formally established by a unanimous vote of the ANA board of governors Feb. 18.

Funds for the award were raised by 23 prominent numismatists in honor of Harry J. Forman, a Philadelphia coin dealer, author and ANA life member who died in March 2008. Together with partner Ruth Bauer, he ran the firm of Forman and Bauer, Inc., a respected mail-order coin business.

Forman was active in increasing ANA membership and encouraging donations to its museum. He became the association’s first “grand patron” in 1982. He was the recipient of a number of ANA awards including its highest honor, the Farran Zerbe Memorial Award.

The ANA is accepting nominations for the inaugural award through April 30. Nominees must be ANA members in good standing and full-time dealers for a minimum of 20 years. Candidates must have a firm commitment to the betterment of the numismatic hobby and ANA. They must also commit to assisting in future selection of all Dealer of the Year Award honorees for 5 years.

Submissions should include the nominee’s name, city and state, place of business, list of accomplishments and awards, and a brief message explaining why the nominee is deserving of the award.

Nominations can be submitted by mail to ANA, Dealer of the Year Award, 818 N. Cascade Ave., Colorado Springs, CO, 80903; or by e-mail to awards@money.org.

The winner will be announced at the 2009 World’s Fair of Money, scheduled for Aug. 5-9 in Los Angeles, Calif.

This entry was posted in Articles, General News, News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply