Skip to main content

Barbara Gregory gets Clemy Award at NLG Bash

Gregory was cited for her 18 years at the helm of ANA's "Numismatist" magazine as previous Clemy winner Fred Schwan made the presentation.
  • Author:
  • Publish date:

Barbara Gregory received the Clemy Award Aug. 17 to cap off the Numismatic Literary Guild Bash held during the American Numismatic Association World?s Fair of Money in Denver. It is the highest honor the organization can bestow.

As editor of Numismatist, the official publication of the ANA, Gregory was cited for her 18 years at the helm of that product by Fred Schwan. Schwan was last year?s recipient and by tradition the person who made the final decision as to whom to pass it on.

?I?m speechless and a little choked up,? said Gregory. ?I love what I do.?

Earlier in the evening, the usual satirical program was conducted by regulars Wendell Wolka, Ed Reiter, Scott Travers and Dave Alexander, but a last-minute substitution put David C. Harper in the role of Karnak, who sees the answers to questions before they are asked. Harper joined Travers at the podium and the program went on

Annual awards were given. Krause Publications titles were well represented during the presentation.

Numismatic News was represented by writer R.W. Julian, who won Best Article or Series of Articles, Numismatic Newspapers, for ?Quarters Were Not Mint?s First Concern.? In the category of Best Sport News Story or Continuing Coverage of a Developing Story in Numismatics, Julian and David Ganz were recognized for their coverage of the 10 seized 1933 double eagles. Their award was shared with Paul Gilkes of Coin World.

Best Column in a numismatic newspaper was awarded to Fred L. Reed III for ?Shades of the Blue and Grey? in Bank Note Reporter. From the same newspaper, Karl S. Kabelac was awarded Best Article or Series of Articles: Paper Money, for ?Traders Bank of Rochester Lasts Until 1924.?

World Coin News authors garnered three awards in the World Commercial Numismatic Magazines category. Thomas H. Sebring?s ?124 Patriots of Ireland: A Numismatic Mystery,? won for Best Article or Series of Articles: Tokens and Medals, and the late Paul Green won in the same category for Paper Money, for ?Costa Rica Says Hello to San Francisco.? Best Column went to Bob Reis for ?From A to Z.?

In the Books: Best Specialized Book, Paper Money category, the award went to the Standard Catalog of World Paper Money, Specialized Issues, 10th edition, George S. Cuhaj, editor.

Other winners can be viewed online at the NLG's site,